New Yorker

Forum Regular
Washington DC (Georgetown) and New York City (UES)
I am a little curious to read what people think about this story.

As you guys know, Nurse Jacintha Saldanha was the nurse who was the victim of a prank call where a man and a woman from Australia impersonated the Queen and Prince Charles.

Now that she commited suicide, many people are questioning wether the two people behind the prank are responsible for her death.

What do you think?

I dont think we can hold them responsible because the prank in its nature was harmless. I have seen many pranks where people are put in very difficult positions that can lead to heart attacks or a nervous breakdown, but this particular prank was not even close to being that noxious.

I think she was already going through some time times in this was the trigger for an episode. I know she was from India and although I am no expert in Indian culture, I know the notion of honor and one's place in society are in very high regard.

I think what happened was under the category of tragic coincidence. It's like you waking uo and ss soon as you foot hit the flor you trip, fall and break your neck. Though that is incredibly unlikely, it can happen. Same thing applies to this situation. If you have to be so mindful w=of what you say then nobody will ever open their mouths because you never know when a comment might push someone over the edge.

No, I don't think that they are directly responsible because this result could not have been predicted realistically.

Tragically though, a number of lives have been ruined by this action, not least the children of the nurse and the pranksters themselves, and you have to ask, for what?

I have never been a fan of these prank shows; they often leave me uncomfortable. I prefer my humour not to involve the suffering of others.